Feature idea: 3d/vr interface?

I’ve seen a few posts over the last few years that mention this idea, but the only ‘finished product’ I see is the ‘tabletop simulator’ on steam, as far as I can tell. I don’t really want to have to download steam, and I don’t want to be restricted only to playing with other people who have steam and the game downloaded, and I hear the experience isn’t so polished anyways.

My vision would be something that I could play on online-go.com with, and I think I want to build it using webXR, and be able to play with just google cardboard. (I’m not really interested in other go servers, personally.)

Has anyone every finished a project like this? I’ve never done 3d, but I’m a reasonably experienced web dev and I feel confident I could figure this out (should be a pretty basic intro-to-unity project, I think). Idea would be to have really cool surroundings, get to play go in an isolated environment–on top of mountains, in any desired photosphere, in darkness for the ultimate no distractions mode, with animated abstract 3d art in the background, etc.)

If the devs are open to it, I’d be glad to do that as an integrated project built into online-go.com itself (3d/vr mode).

Otherwise, I’d be interested in more information on whether the api as it exists right now would easily support this project being built as a 3rd party thing.

Thanks. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

As far as I understand these things (which admitadelly is not that deep), the current API should be absolutely enough to create a thing like that, can’t see why not, there is already several 3rd party projects working with OGS.

We only have one developer and he is a pretty busy guy already. My copletely personal suggestion would be to not try and push for some official cooperation right away. At this stage, it is nothing more than an idea and can very well start its life as a separate thing…