Get a rank without being crushed (often)

Important: Obsolete, see

Reading Proposal: New users choose beginner/intermediate/advanced and drop ranked game restrictions - #71 by Groin a question comes to mind.

Currently all new accounts on OGS start with an intermediate rank (~10k) and are not allowed to play ranked games against players with a beginner rank (~25k). They need to lose games first, which is an unpleasant experience for a significant amount of players, and how many games they have to lose depends on what kinds of games they are playing. So how can a complete beginner with a new account get an appropriate rank with a minimal amount of being crushed (and without breaking any rules?)

Suggested approach: Play a Handicap Game with Black against a DDK Bot

One fast way to get an appropriate rank is by playing a game against a computer with the following settings:

• AI Player: 15k is preferred, if that is unavailable, pick a stronger one (14k, 13k, 12k, …)
  • Ranked: Yes
  • Board Size: 13x13
  • Handicap: 4
  • Komi: Automatic
  • Your Color: Black

There are other settings, but you can choose them as you wish.

Additional Questions

A few additional questions have been discussed in this topic, but the answers have yet to be summarized here:

• What to do after the first game is won or lost?
  • What are the pros and cons of the suggested approach?
  • Why are those settings suggested?
1 Like

Allow the beginner to select a beginner rank ~25-20kyu

Why is this so complicated?

5 Likes

There’s a differnet thread for that. I think @Jon_Ko is looking for suggestions as long as that hasn’t been tackled.

2 Likes

Play 9-stone handicap games with black against GnuGo 10k.

4 Likes

Yes, thank you for pointing that out.

Nice idea. I’ve tried it on the test server. 9x9 with 9 stones against easybot2 [9k] with almost random moves. I dropped from 12k to 25k with just one game.

2 Likes