Have you never experienced inexplicable periods of regression in your strength?

I have just a mere curiosity. Do anyone out there experienced - after a quite constant increase in strength (or rank if you like) an inexplicable pause with some clear regression? This is what is actually happening to me. This happened already just 15 years ago when I started studying go more deeply.

What is inexplicable to me is that if you got a certain level of confidence and awareness you shouldn’t fall again back. Had any high single-digit kyu had such experience? If yes, how did you work out? What about the reasons? How did you deal with it?

5 Likes

I cannot comment on Go specifically, but this is rarely the case in real life. I see myself and others fall back all the time, in things that we mastered years ago. It can be due to stress, overworking, some traumatic event, difficulty sleeping and a lot of other things.

For example, my work involves LOTS of writing and I’m close to 40, I’ve been writing formal texts literally for decades and I’m a spelling/grammar pro (in my language, don’t @ me). It has happened to mistype a certain word all day, my brain was just having a rough one because of a deadline. I didn’t actually worry I was starting to regress in spelling, it was a temporary thing because I was tired.

I’d say it’s an important thing that differentiates us from machines, no? That we might master something and, due to life happening, miss perfection once in a while. If it weren’t true, professional athletes or marksmen would never have to prove their worth ever again.

tl;dr, I think it’s perfectly normal, it’s not a big deal and it happens to everyone. :slightly_smiling_face:

8 Likes

It also seems quite natural to me.