Hello! A beginner looking for a teaching game!

Hello there!

I am a beginner of Go and a new comer to OGS and I am looking for 19x19 teaching games in correspondence mode!

To describe my situation:

Through beginner books I know the rules of the game. I understand basic concepts like “corner first, side next, center later”. I know basic terms like tiger mouth, shoulder hit, hane, net, ladder, etc - I can make use of them if I am solving Go problems, but I am not good at noticing them or making practical use of them during a “real match”.

I know 2 eyes live and what is a false eye. I solved some life and death problems too, but when on a real board I struggle at how to form a plan to make my stones live asap when I had just few stones to begin with and my opponent is playing approach moves to challenge it (instead of almost finish shape in problems where you just need to add a few stones to live or kill).

Oh and joseki is just so BIG to learn :smiley:

I played some 9x9, 13x13, and 19x19 bot games on my phone & tablet and some very casual over-the-board games with friends and family who are also absolute beginners.

In short I think I just “know” things in my head but is not good at the when and how of using them.

What a long thread :slight_smile: anyone interested to offer me 19x19 correspondence teaching game? I can play multiple correspondence in parallel too and will probably ask a lot of questions in chat!

Much appreciated!

Sounds like youve done quite a lot already :smile:. The theory will help you advance faster than trial and error alone would, so id say youre off to a good start.
I will send you a challenge for a teaching game :slightly_smiling_face:.

The 19x19 board is so big that it isn’t really necessary to live asap. There is plenty of room to make eyes if you just spread your stones and avoid being surrounded.