Help for a complete noob

Hi all,

I have been threatening to learn go for a number of years and today for my Birthday my wife finally got me a board.

I have been trying to get to grips with the basics of eyes, two eyes etc.

However, I am stuck on what I can only imagine is because I lack the parlance to articulate what I am confused about!

Here is an image that I will try to explain: https://ibb.co/dBk5mp

Let’s say that black captured the territory in the corner of the board prior to white being in that area of the board at all. A silly example but just to illustrate of course. As I understand the rules, unless white can get two eyes in that territory so it is impossible for black to play, then black will claim all of that territory at the end of the game. Is this correct?

In this rather silly example, white has managed to surround completely the black player. Does that mean that all of this territory is now white or still black?

In the second example, and this is where I am going to sound even sillier I have a second image: https://ibb.co/dGsXz9

In this example, both white and black have taken roughly half of the board each. What decides which half belongs to which color? Is it that there are two eyes? In an even more contrived example, lets pretend both players had straight lines down the board with no eyes. How is this then decided?

The reason I ask is that during my first game with my wife we descended into arbitrarily joining lines that split whole sections of the board.

I apologise for the rather long post but I am not sure how to approach learning this stuff yet. If there is a resource to read would be great to know.

Many thanks!

I’d be happy to give you a teaching game sometime if you’re interested. As for your two questions, the first one, the black has ‘territory’ but also there are weaknesses in the shape so depending on who has the next move white can either kill black, or black can live