Help Learning JavaScript (Absolute Beginner)

Excuse me for asking such a thing in a forum like this, but I would like a little help. Recently I have sprung an interest in programming, and will begin by learning JavaScript. I have loved playing on OGS, and by being on the forums I have developed such an interest, being that it applies so much here. I am hoping to learn as a side skill and potentially as a job later on. So here goes: Does anyone know of any great beginner courses/ tutorials on beginning to use JavaScript that are online and free. Again, absolute beginner that knows nothing about programming looking to learn, thanks in advance!

Mr. GoBoard (@Go_Board)

3 Likes

an app that might be useful as a side resource: sololearn
i wouldn’t recommend it as a main resource though.
this seems to be nice: https://www.codecademy.com/learn/introduction-to-javascript
w3scools is a good site as well for these things.

something to keep in mind - a language is a tiny part of “programming”, most knowledge is somewhat the same between most high level languages. which means: focus more on finding a resource that works for you, for any language. and yes, just try one, decide its not the best and go to somewhere else. no one can help you more than google.
languages that arent too bad to start with: python, c#, java, javascript.

oh and, find mini projects that you want to create. nothing teaches you more than working hard on making something you like ^^
if you like math problems, projecteuler.net will give you lots of nice projects. there are other problem sites, if you are less mathemathically enclined.

5 Likes

My daughter has been enjoying this:

You will need to learn HTML and CSS also if your intent is to contribute to OGS.

2 Likes

hence a good reason to start with a cleaner language ^^

I clarified (by editing my post) that I did not mean you need to learn HTML and CSS if you want to learn javascript (because you don’t)