Help to understand my very first game

Hello to everybody!
I have a question about if there is any free Ai tool with natural language like chatgpt, available for being able to analyze some go games because I’m a newbie

I have played my first game and my opponent told me that I had all my black pieces except the ones located in the upper left corner,… Dead… and I cannot understand why:

62108688-054-Shipwreck-AlexTheDrug.sgf (696 Bytes)

thank you for helping me to understand my first steps in this awesome game!

1 Like

There is no such tool but you can ask humans on this forum.
The group on the upper left is alive because it has two eyes:

The other groups can’t make two eyes, so they are dead. To convince yourself, let’s continue a few moves:

Capture d'écran 2024-03-03 101753

Now you see that the group on the lower left only has one eye, and the two other black groups can’t make a single eye.

To practice making two eyes, try this set of problems: https://tsumego-hero.com/sets/view/104

5 Likes

I like watching some of Michael Redmond’s videos on youtube, he has a playlist for beginners here:

Video 5 seems to talk about getting two eyes for your group.

An important thing to remember is that your rank has not been well established yet, so you will not be matched against players of similar strength. I think new players might be a bit frighted about playing ranked games as it sounds more serious than unranked games, but it is the absolute best way to find players that are not too hard. As you play more games the system will be able to determine your rating more accurately. The default rank you begin with when you sign up is about 11k, but as you are a beginner you can expect this to drop to like 20k-30k.

Edit:
Here is the OGS link to the game for reference: My very first game!

2 Likes

Thank you for your quick answers ! It’s really encouraging to have this support.

@jlt You said:

• About the upper left group: ok, I understand.