Hoping to play a few games with a teacher

I am a Beginner - I’m happy to play anyone but would appreciate some tips as to why I keep getting systematically annihilated. :grinning: It would be great to have a few games with someone who could give me some feedback or suggestions. Looking for live game. Evenings Australian time are currently pretty convenient.

3 Likes

The reason why you’re “getting annihilated” is probably because OGS matchmaking system is kinda weird and in order to rank you it matches you with mid-tier players first.

As a beginner, you’re unlikely to be able to play on par with them – but now that your rank fell to 18kyu, you should start seeing people closer to your level, although you might have to lose some more games.

Sorry about that, in the community we’ve been discussing solutions to that problem, but this site is run by a very small team of people and they have a lot of work with bugs and such, so it might take a while before it gets better for beginners.

For now, I can play with you and give you some advice if you want – do you want a live game about now?

EDIT: oh, I guess you weren’t online anymore. Well, maybe another day, or you’ll find another teacher.

Yes I’m online now-are you still here?

1 Like

Feel free to send me a challenge.

Okay, let me see if I can work out how to do this, :grinning:

2 Likes

Ok, we played almost a full game :slight_smile:

When we have a chance we can keep playing, but for now I have some advice for your own time, I thought I would write them here so you’ll find them when you get back online:

• If you like watching YouTube videos, I think this series is very good for beginners! All the videos in the series are good, but especially the one I linked in particular. I tried to teach you some of those concepts during our game but I’m not as good a teacher as the video’s host :slight_smile: