How did you learn web development?

I started learning JavaScript a couple weeks ago, and it was going really well until I started getting intrusive thoughts like “I should read the SGF docs” or “maybe I can learn something from studying the BesoGo code”.

These seemed like perfectly good ideas at the time, but as soon as I opened up a Go-related GitHub page and read a couple lines of code, I’d be consumed by an overwhelming desire to play Go, and get nothing done on the programming front.

Reading projects about Go seems like it would be an amazing way to learn but I just have no self-control :sob: what were the things y’all found most interesting when you were just getting started with web development, or with programming in general?

(also hi it’s been awhile)

12 Likes

I read books (such as Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.co.uk, but these are 20+ year old recommendations; Crockford’s JavaScript: The Good Parts[Book] is still a valid recommendation). Other people’s code is unlikely to be good instructional material, particularly if it is their hobby projects quickly bashed together with no intention of being easily to follow or a paragon of good coding style. These days video courses could also be good. I found working on my projects with real goals to be interesting and a good motivation with qualifiable success. For example I made a personal homepage on ntlworld, a program to create track listings for my ATRAC format Sony CD walkman, a keylogger to hack my school’s network (:imp:), and a bouncing ball simulator. Oh and don’t use w3schools, it’s not as bad as it used to be, but MDN is better. And stackoverflow, if you’ve not yet discovered it (it didn’t exist when I started).

7 Likes

I learned by making BesoGo, which also involved reading the SGF docs.

I also found reading Crockford’s “JavaScript: The Good Parts” to be very helpful for learning JavaScript. It’s still very good despite being out of date on new language features.