How long have you been playing go?

I’d like to know how long you have been playing go and what your rank is. Just to see how I am progressing compared to others

Thanks

5/21/2015 I’d like to thank everyone who replied to this topic.( I never thought so many people would respond) I greatly appreciate your contributions and hope others learned from the replies too.

To answer my own question, I have been playing go since september 2014 on OGS after I read Hikaru No Go, all my games I have ever played have been on OGS. I am now a 11k-10k at first I played about 5 9x9 a day but lately I have time for a 19x19 game every other day or so because of school exams and finals, but i plan to reach a solid SDK this summer!

LOL, whatever your rank is — you’re progressing just fine :smiley:

(For comparison (OK, I know it’s perhaps not really comparable): I was born in 1957, played my first game around 1964, these days I oscillate between 11k and 13k; I admit, though, that there were looooong times in between where I did not play, and I never had resp. took the time to do intensive study :wink: )

4 Likes

I watched HNG in 2006 or 2007, so of course i did find http://www.playgo.to/iwtg/en/ and learned the rules, played few games, lost all of them, and decided to pick it up again when i have more time.
That day did come 12th of july 2014, when i registered here and played my first game since, some time i was stuck at 30k, but after mass adjustment i started to rise the ranks and now my rank is about 7k.

[quote=“trohde, post:2, topic:4271”]
LOL, whatever your rank is — you’re progressing just fine
[/quote] yup :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I started on august 2014. Only played in OGS.