How to become better, how to become a pro in this game, etc. I noticed that there are puzzles in this game, are they good?

How to become better, how to become a pro in this game, etc?
I noticed that there are puzzles in this game, are they good?
Im a newbie at this game playing first time, so i intersted.

1 Like

Play a lot. Do tsumego. Ask for game reviews via this forum. But most of all have fun.

2 Likes

Here are some puzzles to start with.

More you play, more you learn. There is this old go proverb “lose your first 100 games as fast as possible”, meaning that you should just play, play, play, and not care about winning or losing. Puzzled do help on getting better, but i think the main thing is to play games ^^

I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times.

1 Like

If you’re older than 6, I don’t think you could do this.
But the journey of a go player has many milestones which could help you understand how quickly you’re progressing.

• twenty plus kyu (TPK)
  • Double digit kyu (DDK)
  • Single digit kyu (SDK)
  • Shodan
  • 2 dan
  • 3 dan
  • 4 dan
    and so on…

If you quickly become dan, you can start thinking about becoming a pro.

Pro dans are counted after amateur dans.

Strongest Italian players (I’m from Italy), reached dan level in about 1 or 2 years. They aren’t pro. Our strongest players are about 4d / 5d.
In Europe there’s just a handful of pros.
Becoming pro is very very hard.

BTW, there are few “pros” (which make a living out of go) without actually being pro level.
Youtubers, teachers and so on.

3 Likes

If you’re older than 6, I don’t think you could do this.

I discussed this topic in some detail last year.