How to score a game

Hi, i am new in this go world.
Who won this Match? O believe black. ls it?
Thanks.

W 38 +komi, B 8

W+30

1 Like

Thanks smurph. Can you describe how to score this game?

It depends a little on the rules you’re playing with, but in general you could read this page for Japanese, and this page for Chinese.

For an example of how Japanese pro’s do scoring, see for example the end of this video. I find scoring on a real board extremely satisfying for some reason.

The game itself is fun to watch too, there’s a huge capture by Shibano near the end, hence all the black stones he puts on the board during counting.

3 Likes

White won the match by a large margin, since the black group at the bottom is dead.

Counting the exact score depends on the rules. I believe @smurph counted with Japanese rules (territory scoring), so let me do a detailed count in Chinese rules (area scoring).

The 10 black stones in the bottom 3 lines of the board are all dead and are removed at the end of the game. If black disputes the death of these stones, the two players could play on, but a competent white player should be able to capture those stones.

After removing those 10 stones, black has 19 stones left on the board and 5 points of surrounded territory, for a total score of 24 points. White has 57 points (28 territory + 29 stones) on the board (not including komi). So, White has won by 33 points plus however much komi (compensation points) White was given.

6 Likes

Actually, even for an incompetent player, the only way black might live, is if white keeps passing and let black capture one of the white groups.

2 Likes

Further, to explain how @smurph counted with the Japanese rules (territory scoring):