I don't know what to do

Hello. I’m new to Go in general. I have been interested in Go for a few months but I didn’t start actually playing until this week. I looked at the online resources OGS offers. It has very good instruction and I feel like I know the concepts. However, when I get into an actual game, I’m a little lost and not sure what to do during my game and I end up floundering and my opponent takes all the space no matter what I do. I have this huge open space of board and my opponent seems to know what to do and I don’t. I feel like it shouldn’t be this hard. I’m likely missing some element that I didn’t get during the online instruction.

Hi there, @invi! Welcome to the site, aswell as to the Go world! :grin:

You don’t need to worry, your feeling and what is happening to you is more than normal. That’s why there’s a saying in Go: lose 100 games as quickly as possible (or in some other forms/numbers). This means that the first things you need to grasp are a bit abstract to teach directly, so the best way to surpass them is by learning with experience.

Nevertheless, you are on the right place. I’m sure you’ll find great teachers in this forum :smiley:

3 Likes

hi invi

i looked for your games on the server, and it was empty, so you must have been using
a different server, or a different account, or even real life

have you played enough on the small boards? i think thats helpful initially to avoid the
’lost at sea’ feeling. personally i think 13x13 is a good size since it starts to develop
a little notion of whole board play. 9x9 is good up until you get a very basic grasp
of capturing tactics.

why don’t you post what you think is your best game and i’m sure someone here would be
happy to give you suggestions about how to direct your study

1 Like