I have been banned when creating a new account

I was playing a game and I got kicked off.
I can’t login anymore. Simply when I do it I do not receive any warning and it just doesn’t work.

I tried to create a new account and I received the message that I got banned.

What happened?
I’m completely new to Go, so I really have no idea.

5 Likes

Let me preface this my quoting one of my favourite sayings “Do not ascribe to malice that which can adequately be explained by incompetence”. It appears the OGS mod who banned you has the opposite view.

I saw one of your games linked in the chat eg https://online-go.com/game/25171898. What seems to have happened is because you should have lost your first few games against people ranked around 12 kyu (a lot stronger than a beginner at 30 kyu) if they were scored correctly, but instead either scored them incorrectly and won (I presume through your own incompetence rather than malice, or the incompetence of the OGS auto score feature) or bored them into resigning because you didn’t resign a game you were losing so much, you ended up getting an unrealistically high rank. So you played too strong people and bored them into resigning or timeouts too. At this point a moderator should have annulled those games and spoken to you about the process of how to score (in the linked game all of white’s stones were incorrectly marked as dead, and lots of dead black stones were incorrectly marked as alive) and the etiquette of resigning. But instead you just got banned? Sorry to hear that, that’s not how we should treat new players.

5 Likes

Hello Tiwi,

the account was banned due to what we percieved as repeated cheating attempts (by altering the correct score before accepting the result). One of our moderators did try to contact you about the issue, but got no response and instead the problem re-appeared in following games.

We have unbanned your account, and if it was a genuine misunderstanding we do appologize, it can sometimes happen.