I might be conducting research on Go and cognition! Yay!

I’m a graduate student studying education and working toward a master’s in curriculum and instruction. I have curried a lot of favor with the professors and am currently arguing for a research design that would work with cohorts in an elementary, middle-school, and secondary context in the field of cognition development. My proposal would compare Go training and play (on the 9x9 due to time constraints) with several other interventions as well as with a control group. It would compare those interventions with performances on exams designed to measure various skills in cognitive domains such as spatial reasoning, reaction time, etc.

Is anybody here interested in the research? Any suggestions? Are there any questions you’d like to see included in the research? I appreciate any and all responses! :smiley:

Long-term, I’d love to see if blitz, live, and correspondence habits have different effects. Sadly, in my area you have to start with just teaching the game itself :stuck_out_tongue:

Side note: if our findings are interesting, we’ll be looking for people willing to do replication studies. Plug the work!

9 Likes

may be you like this seminar:
LVII EUROPEAN GO CONGRESS.
OLTSZIN, POLAND. 2013

SCIENCE CONFERENCE.

GO AS THE FOURTH COMPONENT OF AN INNOVATIVE
                                          INNER DISCIPLINE

Dario Colombera

ABSTRACT