In AGA rules, who restarts the game?

I was just reading through the AGA rules and I noticed this:

  1. Disputes: If the players disagree about the status of a group of stones left on the board after both have passed, play is resumed, with the opponent of the last player to pass having the move.

  2. The Last Move: White must make the last move–if necessary, an additional pass, with a stone passed to the opponent as usual.

Since white must make the last move, does that mean that if play is resumed due to a dispute it will always be blacks move first?

1 Like

It seems so, and I’d say it doesn’t matter.

If white believes a black group is dead, then black should not be able to live even if adding a move.
If white believes a white group is alive, then black should not be able to kill it even if playing first.

And vice versa.

@SanDiego: The problem with that thinking is that if there is a dispute and the game restarts then by definition one of the players must be wrong. If black always restarts then the risk for being wrong fall almost entirely on white. Of course, the players shouldn’t get it wrong, but you can’t just assume that they haven’t got it wrong, because clearly one of them has.

@Purble ok you got me here, there’s the edge case where both players are wrong and the status of the group is still undecided.

So I went back to the AGA rules:

@danielt1263 didn’t quote step 9:

  1. Ending the Game: Two consecutive passes normally signal the end of the game. After two passes, the players must attempt to agree on the status of all groups of stones remaining on the board.

The agreement on the status must happen after two passes. Then only white would make the last move if necessary.