Is this shape alive?

hi im new here. can someone tell me if this shape is alive? white is surrounded by black and this is the only eye space.

according to https://senseis.xmp.net/?BasicLiveShapes#toc5 8 points are alive, but if black plays first, i cant find a way to make 2 eyes.

original game: https://online-go.com/game/14215316

That comment only applies to “connected” eye-shapes. As long as part of the group can be cut-off the situation may of course be different :slight_smile:

I think white is

Click here for spoilers dead. But let's share some variations of what you have tried? :)
1 Like

The few variations that I have tried led to seki. But I’m not very good at this.

I tried to kill, but did’n find a way: I only managed to seki.

Recently I discovered to be expecially weak at tsumego and similar situations, so I’d like to see some variations too.

Left a review with my ideas. But I encourage everyone to first try to solve for themselves :slight_smile:
and after that I am happy to be corrected had I missed something

2 Likes
The answer isIt's neither ko nor seki, it's dead. I shared the variations in the review, B5 is the correct move.
3 Likes

@ lysnew: At least we are good at judging our own competence!

2 Likes

As you say but it’s only dead if black plays first. Black didn’t. Nor did White reinforce the position. If a position is left in an unsettled state then I assume it is judged alive for scoring?

i believe that (the japanese) rules state that once both players agree to a result, it can not be overturned.
somewhat of a strange exception is the case, where both players pass and afterwards find a move that would change the game result. should that happen both players lose :confused: :joy:.

EDIT: chinese rules are that all stones in unsettled positions are to be treated as alive.

1 Like

well then im lucky that my opponent did not kill it, otherwise thats a big point lost!

1 Like

I don’t see the death…