Keyboard interface?

The documentation seems to assume use of the mouse only. But disabled users and keyboard macros both require use of the keyboard, for example in setting up a challenge and playing a game. I see that this point has been raised before, but not sufficiently addressed, so I’m raising this issue again. Can someone please help with this important issue?

Added: I see that the forum website has a “?” keyboard command to display a list of keyboard shortcuts. But these only seem to apply to the forum, not the game website.

5 Likes

Hi David265,

I have no experience with doing any user experience work targeted toward disabled users. Are there any sort of standard keys used that we should be aware of before dreaming up a short cut keymap?

I would find it very useful if you and any other interested parties could chime in and list out what keys you would like to see bound to what features throughout the site. Once we have an idea of how we want it to function, I think I can make this happen reasonably quickly.

– anoek

4 Likes

Hello,

I am not disabled, so I don’t know about this particular use case, but I do like using the keyboard when available, so I have some ideas.

• Keys to access main pages (the one on the top bar, and in the drop down menu), probably prefixed by a common key for consistency, and to avoid invading the keymap too much.

• Keys for different actions in game (pass, resign, undo request, submit move…)

• Ability to select a move with keyboard, maybe by moving a stone around - probably not with arrow keys as they are used already, but something like wasd ?

• Maybe being able to use arrow keys to focus and select various things, such as games, things on the drop down menu, on the friend/user list… That would require the ability to focus these menus/lists as well, I guess. Actually, that would only require focusing the first link of the menu, and then we can go through them with tab/shift-tab in any browser, I think.