Ladder cancellation

Hi, curious why a cancelled game is annulled, I guess I don’t understand the ladder if they can just cancel a challenge and it’s annulled?

1 Like

This one confuses me too. If someone challenges you on the ladder and you never make a single move, the game eventually times out and you stay on the ladder. It seems like you should be removed and have to start back at the bottom.

Otherwise, people can just dodge games from opponents who they don’t wish to play against.

I’m thinking since I’m a beginner it’s alt accounts of high level players or others that don’t want to play as you say, it sorta sucks having to figure out who they are, and even weirder as I have somebody who has started two games with me and timed out both times, I guess I’m going to have to start messaging them and asking what’s up, or just ignore them.

But in some ways it hurts the ladder scheme, so figured I’d ask everyone opinions on this, thanks for your reply

I think the other player still gets to advance if the game is annulled, so a player can’t just cancel all challenges without being pushed down the ladder.

I thought that timing out causes a player to be kicked from the ladder. I know that this at least used to be the case, but maybe things have changed?

Perhaps we’re seeing a bug. I challenged someone above me on the ladder, he never placed a stone, the game timed out. I didn’t move up. He didn’t get removed from the ladder. He effectively dodged our game with no penalty.

2 Likes

Ok, I guess I’m learning how the ladder works, I thought it might be a good tool to find active players in my skill range as I get little time for live games, the player I challenged did drop in rankings so no possible bug for me. Thanks for the response…