Looking for a partner to help me beat up the bots

Hi. I am rtayek. I started playing some of the bots and my rank dropped to 6K! So I made another account and started playing the bots and was doing ok, but I am now trying to work my way back up to 3K.

I can usually beat up the bots fairly well - see this game. The problem is that I have very poor vision and many times do not see an atari or do not see (or hallucinate) a cut.

I have been able to sit in on lessons for many years given by Mr. Yang who is an excellent teacher.

So I am looking for a partner in the 3-7 Kye range who can tell me when I’m in atari or if I am cut, etc. I am also hard of hearing, so this person should be able to speak English clearly without too much of an accent.

Thanks

4 Likes

In principle OGS does not allow players to use outside assistence in ranked games, and what you’re asking for seems to be exactly that.
But perhaps OGS would allow it in case of a predicament such as yours.

I don’t see a request for help with ranked games necessarily.

I understood their first paragraph as looking for this assistence to help them rank up to 3k (against bots), implying those would be ranked games.

1 Like

I don’t think the assistance should be any problem if it is fairly close to just vision assistance. ‘Does the last move cut something’ is not much different to ‘is there an opponent stone at intersection x’.

However, I wonder why the OP wants a 3-7 kyu for that. A 15 kyu should easily be able to do that.

I’ve self-ataried many times in my life, so someone telling if you are in atari is (mild) outside assistence.

1 Like

Is any assistance - outside assistance?
If account is team account, where 2 people play like in rengo, then OGS rating system would just correctly estimate rank of that team. Someone else would have to be stronger than that team to win a game and rank up just like in a game against any normal account.