ML: when was ranking system in OGS stable for a longer time?

Hello!

I am studying relationship between strength of a player and his games, (e.g. for automatic ranking based on a few games). For this I am in need of a large collection of games, for players of various strengths, but with the requirement, that the ranking system is the same across all the games. I would like to use OGS (mostly because you have a lot of weaker players, unlike kgs for instance), but there has been some changes in the ranking system (and I do not know when). So I would like to ask, if you could reccomend time period when the ranking system was without changes for a longer time (the more recent, the better)

I came across (was reccomended to me by Ray) this repository

which has a lot of games, BUT the author notes that on 9.4.2014 there has been a recalibration of the ranking system, so I would need to use either games before of after. This might not be a problem, but I would rather:

1. use more recent games ( e.g. so that I could offer the automatic rank calibration for players with only a few games to OGS)
  2. have some dev confirm an interval without changes (even subtle changes bring error to the ML process)

Thanks a lot!

PS: some of my work:
http://jmoudrik.github.io/post/2016/01/15/convolutional_neural_net_for_Go_strength_prediction.html

2 Likes

You may want to review the change log at https://online-go.com/docs/changelog it may have some of the info you are looking for.

Tom

3 Likes

The rank system had one mass adjustment, which I think was parameterized by rank. It should be possible to backproject that adjustment to games that happened before that point, but @matburt or @anoek would have to give more details about the actual change.

2 Likes

Here is all of the info about our one system adjustment: Rating correction and changes

2 Likes