Most fun rank to play at?

I’d imagine that you can’t really enjoy go if you’re a complete beginner, because without basics it’s hard to even understand what’s going on in the game. On the other hand I think it’s hard to have fun playing go on high dan level, because reading and evaluating everything becomes tedious.

If that is true that there should be a golden rank at which go is the most fun to play. Is that true? And if so then what rank is the golden one?

2 Likes

I think for people that make it to a high-dan level, they actually enjoy the reading and evaluation, as that is the nature of the game.

Maybe some people will feel more anxiety or tedium as they improve, but I don’t think that’s a universal phenomenon. I don’t believe a “golden rank” exists, and the suggestion seems to rely on shaky assumptions.

4 Likes

I agree that being a beginner is not much fun because a)you do not have a very complete understanding of the game and b)as a result you tend to lose many games and that is never fun.

I also think that high dans have to work more and the game is harder for them. This also does not sound very fun, but I’m sure most of them enjoy working hard. This view is corroborated by Ben Lockhart AGA 7dan, who expressed to me once that he misses the days of being SDK.

That being said, I think the rank where I am now (3k-6k) is great fun. You understand enough to enjoy the game. You can play moves that you want without fear of humiliation.

2 Likes

When both players are 25k. Not knowing anything about the game, how could you not have fun? That sense of discovery and surprise… i was most absorbed in my earliest games, mostly because I didn’t know what I was doing.

The stronger you become, the more tedious it is… you lose the sense of wonder. Yes, you can still appreciate a good or even spectacular move, but it’s more like reading a novel instead of actually experiencing the events.

5 Likes