My opponent paused our game. What to do?

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new to go and OGS (I’ve been playing here for 3 months or so, which is also how long I’ve been playing the game).

I have an ongoing correspondence game where my opponent has paused the game. My question is regarding the etiquette of un-pausing games. In this case my opponent hasn’t said anything about it in chat, they have just paused the game (indefinitely for all I know). Is it considered rude to simply un-pause the game in this case. I don’t mind allowing a pause if my opponent needs it, but the game has been ongoing for almost 2 months and they haven’t used any vacation time in that period so it seems like that might be more appropriate to me given that they must have some vacation time saved up.

Not a big deal, I’m mostly asking out of newbie curiosity.

Cheers,
Stephen

1 Like

Ultimately, the decision is totally up to you, and I don’t think you can be faulted for chosing either option…

Both players agreed on some time settings, if one of the players can’t stick to them, it’s his “problem”. So as far as I am concerned, since the other player did not offer any explanation I would consider it totally fine for you to unpause.

3 Likes

Thanks for the advise! That’s what I was thinking. They can always pause again and offer an explanation and I can reconsider then.

1 Like

Personally if it was me, I’d make my move, unpause the game, and ask in chat why your opponent paused. Unless it’s their move then skip step one lol

They can’t continue to pause without explanation because each player has a maximum of 5 pauses