New player (whoa)

Hi, I’m new to the game of go (struggling with the learning process) and looking for some guidance…

For awhile I’ve been casually fascinated with complex systems and emergent phenomena and when I first saw go I immediately felt that it encapsulated things I’d for years found interesting. It just clicked and I felt like I had an immediate appreciation for the game (this was around the time that AlphaGo was generating attention). I bought a board and some stones (YMI bamboo board with the double convex Yunzi stones) and tried to get my friends to jump into learning and playing with me. We managed a bit of 9x9, but my enthusiasm was basically mine alone and I ended up discouraged and/or distracted and the set ended up in my closet.

These days I have the motivation and the time to try again, so that’s what I’m working on. In the last few weeks I’ve worked up to 13x13 and eventually 19x19 (I find the nature of the 19x19 board really intriguing, but when I play I eventually feel lost). I’ve read through Volumes 1 and 2 of Learn to Play Go by Janice Kim and Jeong Soo-hyun and I’m currently working through In the Beginning by Ikuro Ishigure. I also watch a lot of the Youtube content that is available to learn from. I just don’t feel like on my own I’m able to utilize the information I’m processing. I did go to my first local go club meet up last week (and plan to go weekly) and also started playing online.

I was playing at IGS but heard that OGS was more beginner friendly so I’ve moved over here. I am going to try to play a 19x19 game a day (I have to psych myself up to play, I’ve yet to win a game so it’s hard to feel like I am able to win each time I play). I’m generally pretty motivated to teach myself about the things I’m interested in, but I feel like go is so challenging that I find myself doubting my own efforts…