New to go, Help understanding ranking, time rules, etc

Hi, this may be a redundant questions, but I’m brand new to GO, and already hooked. Played probably 10 games and just won my first! But, instead of actually winning, my opponent just stopped playing and let the game time out. What I don’t understand is why they did this? and… why, after the first timer went out there was another that said 30(5), and then 30 second timers started. Please feel free to point me in the right direction if there’s a thread for this?

Also, can anyone explain how to create games that aren’t friendlies? I’m trying to get my rank dialed in (which probably means losing a few more games, but that’s ok) but it seems only games I join affect my rank, not one’s I create.

Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

Maybe they had connection issues, maybe they are trying to artificially lower their rank, could be a variety of reasons. But just leaving the game instead of resigning or playing on is against the rules.

If you create a custom game, this needs to be ticked, or else it won’t affect your rank. Probably best just to use the Automatch finder though.

3 Likes

I don’t see that game in your game-history, but anyway:

Byo-Yomi at Sensei's Library

3 Likes

Friendly games are an automated name given by the system which you can change in the setting for each game. It has no consequence on the rating, it’s just a name. What matters is ranked or not ranked.
You may find more information on time settings, rules etc… in the documentation.

2 Likes

I never use automatch, but from what I saw in the Western Server Challenge thread, automatch is slower for finding games than just making an open challenge. I always play by making an open challenge, and it never takes long to get accepted

1 Like

This is true. Very true. More true than it should be. I guess OGS did everything correctly when it removed the “quick” from the feature name.

1 Like