Number of moves to make a game not annulled

Dear,

What is the minimum number of moves in a game for it to be ranked after a time-out?
I am a beginner and noticed two of my games got a time-out by my opponent and one game got ranked, another not. The first mentioned game got more moves than the second, so there probably is a minimum number of moves that has to played before the game gets ranked.

Anyone any idea?

Kind regards,

Ton DaiKen

Less than N moves on an NxN board will be annuled.

2 Likes

Thank you! Sensible :wink:

1 Like

I disagree. Playing 18 moves and having the game annulled is rather frustrating haha

In my opinion, 5 moves is more than enough chance for a player to “cancel” a game free and clear on any board size.

6 Likes

I vote for 2 moves, for two reasons:

1. When both players put a stone on the board, they are in a way saying that they decided not to cancel.
  2. Opening avoidance. For example, if you as White can cancel a game after Black made move 3, then you can always avoid diagonal fuseki.

PD: I’m refering to both timeout and manual cancellation.

11 Likes

Makes sense. I would support this also. Players have the option to say “I don’t want this game” but if they both play a stone then the game’s a game.

1 Like

Mostly I use cancellation to avoid trolls, so I believe the current system that they have is just fine. That way, I can tell whether the opponent will actually play a real game, or start doing 1-1 points after a couple of moves.
However, it definitely could be lowered, just not to something like two moves.

If the limit is two moves, trolls can play 1-1 at move 3.
If the limit is 19 moves, they can do it just the same, at move 20. This will actually waste more of your time.
It is unfortunate, but there is no helping you. Just report them to a moderator.