One Dan Path

I’m playing for 3 months now and i reach the 14 kyu mark, i don’t know if it is a good progress, but i’m tryng my best. Is it possible to reach the one dan in a year of go? (being a normal person, not a talented one).

I have a lot of experience in chess and i know some ways to learn faster and more precisely, but my doubt about go is if it is the reading ability the most important in the development in the game to reach the higher levels? In Chess the analogous would be the tatical ability, and in fact many chess games of amateurs are lost by mistakes in calculations, not by general theory or positional thinking. I love the heuristic thinking, the positional idea in the game, but appear to me that the readgin aspect and to see certain combinations are more important in the kyu level, try to make no big mistakes. Sorry for the long post, is it true my line of reasoning? (for the high kyu level and dan level players)

1 dan in 1 year is impossible to most people
You absolutely don’t need reading to reach 9k

2 Likes

Very possible for many people, but not too common. For you to reach 1 Dan in a year you need to hit at least 10k by the 6 month’s mark and 5k by 9 months. To me that’s all very possible, but the 5k mark is a bit of a hurdle to be cleared in 3 months…

1 Like

I think it depends how long you have to study each day. 1 year of 6-8 hours per day playing and studying should be possible to get to 1 dan (I think). Also being younger will help! A friend of mine managed it on a trip to Japan that he took in his early 20s when he was not working.

I am nowhere near 1 dan though, after many years of playing and studying. (playing maybe 20-30 mins per day in multiple correspondence games at the moment). I think there is commitment, and also natural ability.