Playing on tablet

Hello there, I am a newbie moving my first steps into go and ogs.
I had a look around, or at least I tried (not familiar with the forum) but I couldn’t find similar questions.

I’ve been playing from a tablet for a while and had some problems.

First, when typing in the chat, I lose my text if the opponent makes a move or writes. It looks like the page refreshes and I have to be really quick in writing and sending the message. I end up starting the message over again many times and I come across rude. Is this normal?

Second, because of the previous problem I cannot chat real-time otherwise time’s up. In other games I see players commenting real-time moves, is it related to my keyboard issue?

Third and last, stronger players kindly offered me reviews but it didn’t work because of my chat problems. Also, they mentioned discord but not sure the apps works while looking at the game on chrome.

I’d really like to keep using the notepad because it’s my best alternative (no laptop available), but I feel a bit limited.

3 Likes

Hello! Sorry to hear you’ve been having issues. I am not on the OGS team so I cannot offer much specific information but I can think of a few obvious things to try:

1. Upgrade to latest browser version

2. Try alternative browser

3. Try alternative device

These are not necessarily long term solutions but might help to pinpoint the root of the problem.

I have not noticed such issues myself but a related issue that I do experience is that if I type in chat and then try to post a move, the page jumps back to the chat so I have to refresh after typing in chat.