Point loss under Japanese rules?


#1

Hello again, I have a question about game scoring that might seem rather strange and it is probably really embarrassing for me to not know the answer to this question as an SDK. Suppose I were playing a stubborn person or a beginner with a bulky five position (or any possible position with a stone thrown in to prevent two eyes from being formed. Often I would have to fill in at least a few times as my opponent captures my stones down to the one eye that I finally place my stone into for the capture, and to prove my point that the group is dead. Now wouldn’t I have fewer points at the end of the game hence all the captured stones. I have no problem explaining to beginners this position (I once wondered about it to), but I am just curious. :smiley:

Thanks from the “GoBoard” (@_GoBoard)


#2

Under Japanese rules or under Chinese rules if while you’re adding stones to capture, your opponent fills dame, yes.


#3

If I am understanding your quetsion correctly - whether playing out a dead position instead of calling it from the start makes a difference, then no, it doesn’t (at least as far as I understand) :smiley:

Unless some weird business is going on where one player plays a “needless” move and the other does not respond (which would clearly change the score) the fact that he/she captured some of your stones does not matter, because while he/she gets +1 point for each, by taking them off the board you get +1 point for territory (considering the whole area remains yours at the end)

To try and illustrate:

  • lets say your opponent created three in a row eye-space in your territory. You being a SDK throw in, to make it dead.
  • your opponent captures the “thrown in” stone getting +1 point
  • however as the territory is eventually yours anyway, you get +1 point for the territory that would otherwise be occupied by the “thrown-in” stone and you would not count that one as points.

Talking of course about Japanese rules, as this is not an issue in Chinese, where prisoners mean nothing


#4

Illustration.


Japanese Scoring - Problems Understanding
#5

Thank you very much for the diagram and explanation @smurph, that part makes perfect sense to me, so it would probably be best to resolve all of those problems after the dame has been taken care of!!

Thank you!!


#6

Thank you for the explanation @AdamR, If I had put a little more though into this I would have realized the score would not be affected anyway if played properly after dame, but thank you anyway. :smiley:

I would also like to thank you for resolving the game I played a little while back with Fuego, and all of your hard work as a moderator. Keep it up!! You truly are a wonderful person!! :grinning:

Thanks from the “GoBoard” (@_GoBoard)