Points system delineation

Can you guys add a drop down in the ‘Learn’ section that thoroughly explains the different options listed when you create a game and exactly how the points rating system works for each one (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, etc) as well as for the Komi and what it means to be +/-. I’ve tried googling to find how it might work but I end up with big lengthy results that don’t really answer my question effectively.

For all the resources this site has I’m really surprised there isn’t an obvious resource to describe exactly what each option in ‘Create Game’ is so beginners can go into a game with full understanding. I’ve improved my game play a lot since first joining but the points rating system and creating a game makes me feel like I’m still a newly minted noob with zero idea on how to play the game or how it works.

3 Likes

The points rating system is not linked to your choice of ruleset. Whatever rules, a win will reward you with the same amount of points to be used to calculate your rating.

Now the condition of victory varies (a little bit and sometimes) according to the choice of ruleset. That is the scoring of the points on the board may vary (not the rating points you’ll get from your victory).

• Between Japanese rule and Chinese rule, there is 1 point difference sometimes because the first don’t care who play the last dame.
  • In Chinese rules eyes in a seki count as point but not in the Japanese rules.
  • The handicap stones are not considered in the Japanese rules (making it harder for white)
  • The komi varies between rules.

For the most important to remember.

The choice of ruleset is not only made by considering this list, first it can be linked to your origin, culture, who introduced the game to you or to your go players community. Second there are still some other specificities like if you can commit suicide (NZ rules), have a draw as result, or who will sponsor a tournament…

1 Like

Is it here somewhere?

1 Like