Puzzle Confusion

I’m looking for some explanation for why this is the ‘solution’ to a puzzle…
Today’s daily Tsumego Pro basic puzzle is as follows…

The ‘solution’ is this…

Since A9 is Ko, Black’s next move has to be elsewhere, but I can’t find any other move that doesn’t lose them the three B3, B4, B5 stones. Since they’re lost anyway, aren’t there other variations that would also work? Or, I’m just missing something obvious. Thanks,

Puzzle

I’m no expert but s couple of thoughts.
Firstly, sometimes the answer to a puzzle is that you achieve a ko. If you cannot live outright then maybe seki or ko are the best outcomes you can achieve. A ko is better than dying completely.

Secondly, white can’t fill the ko here for to self Atari. So white needs to take the B8 stone. But this gives black another ko to return to this position but now white can neither fill at A9 or take B8 so unless white has a good (i.e. big enough) ko thread black will then take at A9 again and the four stones are in troubled and the three black stones nearly saved.

As you said you can’t find any other way to save the three stones. So a ko fight is worth a try!

4 Likes

According to Sensei’s Library (Tsumego Conventions at Sensei's Library), this is the order of most to least desirable outcomes in a defensive tsumego:

1. local life (including by double ko) or escape from the play area

2. seki (I’d also distinguish sente seki as preferable to gote seki)

3. approach ko in defender’s favour

4. direct ko, defender takes first

5. direct ko, attacker takes first

6. approach ko in attacker’s favour

7. death (obviously)

Within these seven or eight bands, distinction can also be made by pointage and the amount of ko threats left in the position.