Question about a specific position

Hi, before white played his last move (A3), the evaluation was +22 for white, after he played it, the evaluation changed to +6 for black. What is going on? Do you have to be the all-seeing engine to understand this sudden evaluation shift or is it understandable by a total newbee like me?

1 Like

A3 allows Black to capture the 2 White stones with D2, and it should be at somewhere like D2, E2 or E1 instead to protect those two stones.

After that, the White group at the bottom has only 1 eye, and White must play A2 to remove the second eye for the Black group.

It will turn into a seki on the bottom, with both groups with one eye unable to capture the other. In total, White loses around 17 points of territory (the points along the bottom as well as the 8 points for capturing the 4-stone Black group at B2), whilst Black gains 2 prisonners by capturing.

Edit :
An example seki sequence is D2 A2 D1 F1, after which if one side fills the inside, shared liberties at E1 and E2 they will never be able to capture the other group without putting their own group in danger of capture.

(For example, if Black E1 and White C2, Black C1, White A4, after that example seki sequence, then Black E2 would allow White to atari at A1.

If Black plays the same sequence at E1 C2, C1, A4, then G2 instead, now if White G1, neither White nor Black can ever fill the remaining last liberty at E2 without putting their group into atari.)

(atari at 8 if Black tries to fill the remaining inside liberty)

(same for White, if Black passes or played elsewhere (nowhere to play on this board, but on another board position which isn’t finished, Black would play away), Black can atari if White fills E2)

(So it’s impossible to capture for either side, and both players can play elsewhere.

Also, if either side fills one of the outside liberties, the other side can simply fill the other and maintain the seki)