Question regarding AI reviews for Hane Supporter tier for a beginner

The number of playouts for the lowest Hane Supporter is 1000,
Looking back at the old subscription tiers this is a little better than Dan Supporter which had 800 playouts.
Does this mean that even at the lowest tier in the current pricing scheme OGS provides me with AI reviews that are better than a “Strong professional level player”?

I know that these are the only tiers that are available but as a beginner I can’t help but think this is a bit “excessive”.

Also, from your perspective how good or bad was the 125 playout reviews that I was previously subscribed to?

I think it just depends on how you want to use the AI review.

If you want it to find big points on the board in the opening or middle game, it might do that reasonably well on 1 playout, but naturally better with more.

If you want to analyse some complicated joseki or capturing races or tsumego, it’ll probably help to have a lot more playouts.

If you want to find out why some endgame went wrong or why it was better to ignore/answer an atari it might be fine on low playouts, or it might need a lot if there’s a much bigger concern with a surrounded group, or a related or unrelated life and death problem.

I don’t think I would call a number of playouts excessive or not, from my perspective. More playouts will be better for both (A) deeper analysis by the player and (B) very shallow analysis by the player but trying to be more confident in the score estimation.

I’d guess the 125 playouts one was decent enough. For 9x9 games, they can get surprisingly complicated and it might be the case that the higher playouts for that board size could be more noticeable on average than in say 19x19 games.

1 Like

I believe at the moment there are just two kind of AI:

• strong AI
  • silly AI

We can’t actually have an AI that plays like a SDK or a low dan or so.