Ranking discouragement

Hi, I’ve been entering a few tournaments and playing some games on the site wide ladders and this means I end up playing a lot of even games mostly against players who are stronger than me… and losing (no problems here as I’m a beginner and expect this!)

However, each time I lose an even game to a stronger player, my rank seems to go down and this seems a little harsh. Aren’t I expected to lose to stronger players? Or is the issue that I’m such a bad player and I’m losing by so much that I truly deserve these ‘ribbons of shame’?

Also, is there a presumed winning margin when an opponent resigns or times-out?

1 Like

Well,… you won’t gain any rating points by losing. Ever. That’s completely true and, dare I say, makes a whole lot of sense.

Whether you win/lose by resignation, points or timeout also doesn’t matter (with a single exception which I shall not cover here because it’s irrelevant to this discussion).

But if you don’t want to lose rating points, you can always play unranked games. It’s what I do, that’s why I’m quite overrated right now. :smirk: Oh and just in case: 1 stone difference roughly corresponds to a shift in expected (even match) winrate from 50% to 33%. This rapidly drops; 3 stones difference has you at roughly 10% expected winrate and past 9 stones, it is virtually nil.

However, if you’d like to get a realistic picture of where you are currently at with respect to the rest of the server population, playing more ranked games will get you there. Playing people closer to your true rank increases your odds of winning. It will stabilize at a rank that gives you about 50% and whenever you improve, that 50% figure will remain the same but you will rise in rank (yes I am simplifying here).

3 Likes

Thanks smurph

I never expect to gain ranking points when I lose… I just don’t understand why I also lose them when I lose to higher ranked players… hence my question about whether losing margins are taken into account.

1 Like