Repost of a repost -- an old discussion of the correct way to solve tsumego

In 2014, Kungfu_Panda reposted an essay from a Chinese forum, which was interesting but in quite poor English. After some discussion had taken place in the thread in 2019, I found it in the spring of last year and proofread the original post to make it more readable, correcting a lot of grammatical errors.

The thread (Repost: To become a master of Go is not easy, but to become an amateur 5D or 6D is not hard) was locked in the summer of 2020, but I just received a like on that post, so I thought it’d be worthwhile to open it for another round of discussion.

To become a master of Go is not easy, but to become an amateur 5d or 6d is not hard
proofread essay from a Chinese forum, originally reposted by Kungfu_Panda in 2014

I saw many friends in the forum complaining they can’t make progress. I will share my self-taught experience about how I improved from Tygem 2d to 8D.

Before discussing the details, I have to point out several points about study quality and study will.

1. Study quality
No matter whether you do tsumego or play games, without quality it’s insignificant. We can see some some Internet players who have played thousands of games, but still stay at kyu-level or low dan. This is because of study quality.

2. You should know the right way
If your study method is proper, you can avoid detours. I have played Go since the late 1980s and have had many detours, and wasted lots of time. I remember I would hold a joseki dictionary and memorise the contents. I could repeat every variation from memory to my satisfaction. After I improved some years later, I knew it had been a detour, and had wasted many years.

3. Strong-willed study
To be a Tygem 8d is not hard, but you need to play a lot. If you use all your free time on the game, to go from Tygem 2d to 8d needs three years at most. If you don’t want to sacrifice too much of your free time, it needs five years at most.