Resignation disagreement button

I had a game recently…
Here is my Forum post.

My Idea is to add a resignation button or something to call in a player, whoever has time, to decide if the resination is valid.

I had this Idea because a player got back into the game to resignate just to not let me win…

What do you think?

I am pretty new to the game, but I don’t quite understand what seems to be wrong with resignation. It seems to me some Go players think of resignation as somehow wimping out of a game and depriving your opponent of a rightful win, whereas I tend to think of it as an act of courtesy that acknowledges the other player’s game and wants to avoid wasting their time.
Or am I out misinterpreting the signals I get from my opponents during games?

Cheers

2 Likes

I get that, BUT when the winner is to be declared after both players passed their turn and you realise you would lose an you disagree, just to go back in the game to resignate, that is just dumb.

Tjis would hav been my first earned win and he resignated just to not give me the points i would get…

so annoying…

What do you mean “to not give me the points I would get”? If your opponents resigns you won just the same as if you won by points and it has the same effect on your rating.

Also - your opponent may resign due to any reason they like. There is no such thing as an “Refused!” button to stop him and there should not be.

3 Likes

Sorry, I dont know exactly how the points are affecting the ranking.

But I mean in the Game played,
after we both have passed turns to declare the winner. Then he disagreed and I was wondering why he wanted to continue. But instead of placeing a stone he just resignated.

I think he saw the points and I was just 0.5 over his score because i had a 5.5 Komi.

It is annoying.
I hope it was clearer now.

hi there.

Points doesn’t change anything about the ranking.
It doesn’t matter if you win with 0,5 pts, 125 pts or with a resignation