Review request please (23k)

Would like to get a review of the game, though it was not finished (I resigned during mid-game). Biggest problem Im having lately is opponent attacking in territory and not knowing how to defend, besides lack of games and continuously losing, but thats a different story; Im just here to see if i can get any feedback. Thanks

1 Like

I’m only a beginner myself but my best advice would be not to resign that early. Game doesn’t look hopelessly lost at all to me.

2 Likes

This game was pretty much a done deal, especially this far out against a stronger (16 kyu player). I may have been able to get, at most, a few eyes in the middle, a little bit of the top right and left, and maybe a small group in whites large upper-mid left section if i could successfully invade. Like I said, at most, but more than likely not.

Hello! And sorry to hear about your troubles.

I leave you my thoughts here:

If it is any consolation to be honest for most of the game I would have preffered black :slight_smile: (until the resignation part) And to be annyoing and preachy:

No, it wasn’t. This is a totally bad and self-defeating attitude. Honestly you are not strong enough to see that the game is unwinnable in a mid-game. Beginners (me included :D) confuse potential with teerritory and get scared when they see a big framework, even though they have many secured points. Against a stronger player? so what? Why even start the game then? Playing against a strongert player is great! You can learn from them and easily see own weaknesses. Play as long as you can against such players. Sure, dont be annoying with every little invasion, but resigning that soon is pointless. If you want to be respectfull then ask your opponent if he would mind playing till the endgame even though you see that you are behind. Many players here would be happy to help :slight_smile:
/rant