Separate Display for Handicap Scores to Clarify for Beginners

You have the handicap score displayed, but as a beginner, I might think that the handicap is also included in the calculation. Could you separate the display of the handicap number?

the calculation is:

21 + 15 + (3 * 0) - 2.5 = 33.5

But it appears as though the handicap of 3 is being added into the calculation, which might be misleading, especially for beginners. In your thread, you might want to clarify this issue and suggest a way to make the score calculation more transparent and less confusing for new users. For instance, you could propose a more intuitive display format or a separate explanation for how handicaps are factored into the final score.

2 Likes

There is this issue on GitHub about it too:

4 Likes

The fact is there is the difference of x points due to the x stones black put at the start between the two sets of rules. (White task is harder under japanese rule).
Because handicap games are rated on OGS (not just some teaching games), i find interesting that this difference is underlined.
Fact is that in area scoring, some care to substract these x stones to get similar result (but not always in my experience), i am curious if it is stated somewhere?

We have this rules comparison matrix which as far as I know shows how it works:

https://online-go.com/docs/go-rules-comparison-matrix

Note that AGA, NZ, and Chinese rules are all supposed to be different.

2 Likes

Quite interesting summary considering the various ways we count a handicap game.

Is OGS scoring system following strictly this matrix with each ruleset?

Less confusing yes i fully agree that the less you explain the better. There will be other times later to explain the differences if the beginner don’t mind.

More transparent, we are here more in the reverse situation, by wishing to hide a reminder that handicap stones are a bonus for black, so that’s not really transparency.