Shaking off a loss

I was curious to how people shake off the games that they lose? I know some people like to go from game to game even if they lose. But, what do others do to reset themselves after a loss or maybe not even a game they lost and instead won but played badly?

I normally play a few chess games to reset myself. What do you guys do?

6 Likes

I essentially only play correspondence so my problem is more how to shake off the feeling of losing that is persisting over weeks and months. Often I think that once I start feeling that I’m losing then it becomes a self fulfilling prophecy. And often if I could refocus, then likely as not my opponent might allow me back into the game but instead I just make things worse for myself.

9 Likes

In that regards correspondence is definitely worse - not losing the game per se, but that a losing postion drags out over days or even weeks for some games.

6 Likes

I just started playing correspondence for the first time. Now I am afraid of that happening :-).

3 Likes

I should probably add that by the time the loss is confirmed with the actual end of the game, it’s a sweet relief. A kind of closure.

9 Likes
  1. Review your game and try to find at least one mistake/learn something new from your game.

2. If possible, play other games and stop just after a win, so that you finish the day with a positive feeling.

10 Likes

It trains you for the live games though. 95% of my games are correspondence, thus losing a live game is pretty mild in comparison.
Also, losing in a correspondence game can also be fun, since trying to turn the game feels like climbing a mountain.

I think that the easiest way to get over a defeat - let’s say it was a tournament game you were winning and you missed the snapback and now you are angry with your mistake - is to just go do something else, preferably something far more stressful than Go.