Should I start by playing bots or humans?

Hello! I’m new to OGS. I learnt to play go many years ago and am familiar with the rules but in terms of playing ability I still consider myself a beginner.

I see that OGS has a number of bots and am looking for some advice. Would you recommend I play a series of games with one or two bots before moving on to humans or should I just dive in at the deep end and start playing humans? If you think I should start with bots, should I just play a set number of games or carry on until I’ve gained confidence?

2 Likes

Don’t waste your time. Play with real people.
These are actually shallow waters to get your feet wet.
Don’t expect to gain confidence playing a game that you are not yet good at. You’re going to lose for a little while. Bring the confidence with you and have fun learning :slight_smile:

13 Likes

Hello Shenzhou (and welcome to OGS, I suppose)!

Reflecting on your learning process is helpful. But you shouldn’t spend all your resources on this, especially not in the beginning, where knowledge and understanding comes naturally anyway.
In go there are many proverbs. This one applies: Lose your first 50 games as quickly as possible.

Whether program or human, that won’t matter. Just make sure that your opponent is not too many kyus above your level. And if he is, then tell him that you want a teaching game (not possible if you play against a program). The idea here is that to learn one has to identify mistakes, be it ones of your opponent or (more likely) your own. If the ranking difference is big, you won’t be able to recognise mistakes as such, since you won’t understand how your opponent took advantage of your bad moves. (How to take advantage can be very intricate in go in my experience.)

Cheers!

4 Likes

For me, starting with bot has been more comfortable. I found an app for android and played many games on 9x9, also going back and forth, changing my moves to see what happens.