Shown playing game I have not accepted

I am new to OGS.

In the last couple of days, I was shown to be playing three games with different players I have not accepted. I do not wish to be shown playing any game when I am not. So I cancelled these games and White was then shown to have won.

Did I click any button by mistake in my attempt to understand how everything works here? :anguished:

Help, please.

It would help us greatly if you could provide more details: links to the games from your profile, or at least the dates/board size/opponent.

It looks to me like you made some game offers that got accepted. If you cancel a game, it will still show in your record, but it won’t count for your rank.

From my Profile:

2018-05-27 19x19 Bfly vs. Thameskrs Bfly Thameskrs W+Cancellation, ranked, annulled
2018-05-27 19x19 janman10 vs. Bfly janman10 Bfly B+Cancellation, ranked, annulled

2018-05-26 13x13 Bfly vs. Kamouth Bfly Kamouth W+Cancellation, ranked, annulled

On reflection, I probably clicked CREATE under PLAY simply to find out what it does. Nothing happened. There was a time lag and then the above games started while I was offline.

People on this Forum are helpful. I have no hesitation in seeking help so that I would not make the same mistake again.

You are probably right. At this stage of my fledgling GO career, I am not at all concerned about my Rank. Having said that, I disable “Ranked” whenever I practise with Master Mantis! :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

The game name looks like an automatch game. That starts after clicking on one of these buttons. Since there is no other way to choose an opponent, its ok to cancel unwanted games, it’s only a bit annoying that they are kept in the result list.

Also, because the games are listed as “annulled” you did not drop in your rating (and your opponent did not gain).

Thank you all. I am reassured.

Senffarbe is right. I prefer not to see these cancellations in my Profile.