Simultaneous Fractional Go Game 1

I have no real plan, but R16 is fine for now, I want to develop the top. Feel free to reinforce R16, Black | Green can probably do more against White | Green anyways.

I’m black-blue. Definitely not sure where to play in that corner anyway. Maybe I’ll try something like O4 instead :stuck_out_tongue:

Oh! Now I see my confusion with @Jon_Ko, I thought they were Black | Blue!

In that case, I suggest you play C16, and @Jon_Ko plays elsewhere

1 Like

yebellz is going to play C16. Are we sure we want a black+white+blue stone there?

I’m not sure of anything, but that Black+White+Blue seems better than only White+Blue, doesn’t it?

1 Like

Round 4

Team Blue Green Pink
Black @Maharani: C16 @Jon_Ko: Q3 @Vsotvep: O16
White @yebellz: C16 @Feijoa: R15 @terrific: F16

New Position:

fractional_game2_05

Deadline for Round 5: 2021-11-19T20:00:00Z

We have our first collision, and with it the first three-coloured stone in history :grin:

5 Likes

If the black chain at D16 loses all of its liberties, I assume D16/E16 will be removed from the board, but what about C16? Will it be removed or just lose its shade of black and turn into a blue/white stone?

Unrelatedy, is it allowed to collide with a pre-existing stone?

3 Likes

I assume you mean D16, E16 and C16.

Those three stones form a Black chain. It just happens to be overlapping with a White chain formed by the three stones D17, C16, and C15. All five of the stones mentioned also form a light blue chain.

My understanding of the rules is that a chain of any color running out of liberties is captured. So, if the three Black stone chain has no liberties, all three of those stones are removed.

I don’t think it is possible to collide with an existing stone.

3 Likes

Yes, I confirm yebellz understanding of the rules.

2 Likes

Im so bad at this… :smiley:

2 Likes

I find the idea that only the shade of this colour is removed, quite interesting though. Yet another interesting variant I have to try :laughing:

4 Likes

I will keep my move secret this round, in the hopes that I will collide. But I’m open to other ideas

3 Likes

Let’s imagine white stones at D15, E15, E17. The black stones at D16 and E16 would be completely surrounded by white stones. Do they stay on the board by virtue of forming a chain with C16? I assume yes, just checking…

Is it of any help if I play C17 now? or F15?

Yes, I believe so.

@Jon_Ko F15 would be nice, but putting Q4 into atari is also a nice idea, I presume

I suppose we might want to work on capturing those three black stones in the upper-left, so I can best help by playing E15. That is well-removed from the permanent enclosure that @yebellz is setting up and also stays away from @terrific’s stone in case he wants to expand.

2 Likes

You and I should probably play one of those each?

Doesn’t seem urgent to me…

I’m assuming you are talking about the 3 stones in upper left? That’s tempting but I doubt it’s a good idea. If black-blue plays 3-3 then the group will have 4 stones and it’s hard for us to capture. Except 3-3, B16 is also a move.

Nice avatar by the way.

2 Likes

Oops, right. Left.

1 Like