Site moderation

I have a few questions about (and for) the moderator team:

1. Who serve as moderators?
  2. How did you become one?
  3. What is the average online time of one?
    I want to ask these questions because also want to be a part of the team, I have some moderation experience on a server with 5.6k people on discord, and could be online about 5 hours a day.

People are invited by the existing mod team.

It varies and is highly dependent on personal circumstances.

This was not always true, as I said in the post I deleted :grimacing:

This is your first post. You need to be part of a community for some time before you can be reasonably be a moderator of it. Nevermind that people who nominate themselves are rarely suitable.

6 Likes

I don’t really use a lot of forums, but I have a year of experience and quite a lot of time

Username checks out

3 Likes

The normal process is that suitable people stand out from their contributions to the community in some way, and are nominated by the existing team.

I think it’s a perfectly reasonable question to ask, FWIW.

There’s a truism around “people who nominate themselves are rarely suitable”, but this doesn’t mean that “people who ask how it works are not suitable”. Those are two different things.

A massively important factor is “compatibility with the existing team”. This is why some sort of ongoing involvement in the community is mandatory - we need to learn your approach to problems, and your personality, as best we can, before we could think about nomination.