So Apparently I Illegally Tried to Change the Score of a Match?

To make this clear, I am a complete beginner.

It said to remove all dead pieces at the end, and I didn’t know what that meant. It let me click on every piece I had played, so I did in the benefit of my opponent because if I messed anything up it would be in their favor.

What I’m confused about is this: how did I cheat? It let me click them, so shouldn’t that mean it’s OK?

I want to prevent this from happening again, so I want all advice possible.

The computer tries to figure out what is dead and what is alive, but sometimes it makes mistakes which is why players can manually adjust it. If the computer thinks a dead group is alive, but you are pretty sure it is dead, then you can mark it that way. However, you shouldn’t just mark all of your stones as dead just because you think there’s a chance you may have messed up.

If you believe a group is dead but are mistaken, your opponent can opt to continue the game. If it is truly dead then your opponent should be able to kill it, if it’s not, you should be able to save it.

Is it possible the stones were already marked dead (by your opponent or the computer)? Perhaps your opponent reported your game because you had marked stones alive that should have been dead.

Stones will look opaque when alive and semi transparent when dead.

2 Likes

For example, in this game, all the black stones should have been declared dead, but they all are marked alive:

A proper scoring would look something like this:

2 Likes

Here is what happened

Is this correct?

1 Like

That looks correct

Huh. Interesting

I’m slightly confused. Why do you think you cheated? I believe this is the game: Дружеский матч

There doesn’t appear to be anything in the chatbox. Were you reported for cheating?

1 Like

Yes, that is the game. At the time my email wasn’t verified yet so I couldn’t use the chat. I have no clue if someone reported me or what happened.

1 Like