Starting a new IRL Go club (Ballarat, VIC, Australia)

My city doesn’t have a Go club and the closest one is over an hour away. I just got my first go set and a few of my friends have expressed interest in playing with me. It’s definitely still early days but does anyone have any tips on starting up a go club?

4 Likes

Just set a date and time and meet. If there are alot of total beginners, consider preparing a quick beginners lecture/introduction and go from there. Dont over think it. it will develop organically .

5 Likes

Yeah it’ll only be total beginners as I don’t know any established players IRL. My only board is 19x19, should I consider making some cardboard cutouts of 9x9 grids for training purposes?

1 Like

depending on how many ppl are comming yes, its always good to have boards for everyone to play at so that you dont have to share.

throw in a 13x13 for good measure

3 Likes

For absolute beginners, having a 9x9 board is almost a necessity in my opinion. So much easier to get them into the basics, and most importantly, mush less time consuming.

5 Likes
  1. GREAT!

2. Where do you live? I strongly suggest to get in touch with your national Go association for some support (assuming that you’re a member). They should be able to provide you with promotional materials, perhaps some books, and, if you‘re lucky, also with some Go gear. They could also list you in their list of Go clubs so that people who search their Web site can find you.

3. Having some entertaining materials should also be helpful … Hikaru No Go manga (and links to the videos), Aji’s Quest

4. Have a link list to freely available materials (search for “resources” on OGS)
    For example, Sensei’s Library is THE ultimate Go wiki, and the Interactive Way To Go (IWTG) is very valuable for Beginners. There also exist quite a few free (and legal) books in PDF form. Ask here if you can’t find them.

5. Good luck! And keep us updated, pls :slight_smile:

7 Likes

What @trohde said. Great!