Strength suggestions for beginner bots

I’ve been adding a few bots to OGS that play closer to the beginner level (one targetting 20k, one targetting 12k). But I’m not sure which levels would be most useful to support new players as a supplement to playing human-to-human games.

My main worry is that the 20k bot might still be a bit too strong and frustrating to complete beginners. Is it too much to expect new players to request for a handicap? Maybe “Automatic” handicap should be the default (IDK know if it s)?

WDYT?

3 Likes

Well “unluckily” my complete beginning was on the real board where I had no immediate rank estimate, so I don’t really know how my beginnings were and how long did it take to break the 20k

But to me (and this is based on nothing more than my feelings) having a bot that plays complete garbage has little value and I would not really go below the 20k.

I am not sure how the strength “shows through” and would be an interesting topic - now that I think about it - to be able to to have the bots focus on certain basic aspects. Like maybe one of the first bots would focus on ataris. Capturing a stone whenever it can and protecting stones that are ataried (even disregarding a bit wheter or not it is the best move) to train begginers to see them ataris :slight_smile: (perhaps even with some pre-defined helpfull messages in certain conditions)
Stuff like that… Sorry for the random rant, just thinking out loud :smiley: I would enjoy programming a bot like that. Too bad I have no idea how it’s done :smiley:

4 Likes

I’d just say let beginners play LZ / ELF and simply choose tangible goals.

1. Make 1 living group.
  2. Make 2 living groups.
  3. Make 3 living groups.
  4. Make 4 living groups.
  5. Have >20 pts of territory at the end of the game.
  6. Have >30 pts of territory at the end of the game.
  7. etc.

Better than playing a bot “that plays […] garbage”. I wouldn’t go below GnuGo, which is bad enough a bot to be exploitable.

2 Likes