Study Journal

So I have decided to start a Go study journal. I want to do this for a number of reasons:

• To provide some structure to my study. In the last few months, I have put a fair bit of time into go and I think it would be cool to track my improvement over time. I am currently somewhere between 12Kyu and 14Kyu and seem to have been stuck here for ages. My short term goal is to break through to SDK before mid-January.
• To force myself to review ALL of my (online) games. I feel like having somewhere specific to write about this will help me to do this.
• To note new things that I learned when playing games or watching videos or reading books etc.

I won’t hold myself to any strict posting schedule but I aim to post maybe once or twice a week.

Seen as this is my first post I will post some other relevant info:

I have been playing Go for about 5 months and I am currently 13Kyu. In that time, I have played 266 games and won 105 of them.

What I have read to Date:
In the beginning, Lessons in the fundamentals of go (I will have to re-read this at some stage) and the first book in the graded Go problems for beginners. I am currently working my way through 38 basic Joseki and volume 2 of the graded Go problems for beginner’s series.

Reading List:
I currently have (but not read) Opening Theory Made Easy, Attack and Defence and Tesuji from the Elementary Go Series. I am to read (study) these in this order (after 38 basic Joseki). In parallel, I will be working through the graded Go problems for beginner’s series.

I really don’t expect anyone to read this but maybe someone will get something out of it… Even if it is just a laugh at all my silly DDK mistakes…

I guess that is about it for now. I will post an entry tomorrow.

5 Likes