[Suggestion] Visualize the counting process like on a real board

I just wanted to put it out there, I think it would be a fantastic learning tool if there was an option for OGS to move the stones around for counting at the end of a game, the same as is done on a real Go board.

The purpose being to simulate the traditional counting method, as a cultural artifact, as a learning aid, and because it looks cool. I think it would be a great resource to see how counting actually works and make it easier for people to transition to in-person Go boards.

Accurately capturing the traditional method in an algorithm is tricky, since it’s a matter of style. Personally I feel that Japanese-style counting would be most clear, but I’m not a programmer!

12 Likes

You want an AI to move the stones around to make rectangle zones?

That’s actually a pretty cool idea. But probably a project outside the scope of OGS.

If someone successfully makes such an AI and it is open-source, then it will time to suggest to incorporate the feature on OGS :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I don’t think it is an “AI”, just an algorithm for going around the board picking up stones, putting them down, and making areas in each surrounded territory. I do not enjoy programming in my free time, but people in discord seemed to like the idea so I just wanted to put it out there.

4 Likes

AI or not, a proof of concept would be a good idea. (As someone who does enjoy programming, I’m still not really sure how would be a good way to implement this)

1 Like

From my limited knowledge, I would say something like:

• Pick up all the dead stones
  • Divide each distinct group that surrounds territory
  • Set it up as a constrained optimization problem to create separate zones that are as square/rectangular as possible