The one book you would recommend a beginner to start with

There’s so many books, so I was wondering what would be your ONE BOOK that you would read if you were a beginner all over again?

1 Like

You are right that there are lots of books out there. There is no simple answer because I think it depends on what you mean by a ‘beginner’. However I think the book that helped me the most in those early days was:

“The Second Book of Go” by Richard Bozulich.

It gives a simple outline of a lot of the basic concepts like joseki and tesujis.

1 Like

Indeed.

I would recommend discovering the rules of the game and the basics of atari, capturing, eyes, etc. by playing and looking things up online, instead of reading a book. It’s the most fun way to learn anyway.

Perhaps not suitable for a complete beginner, but more for a 20k-10k (although the author argues everybody should benefit from his book): I really loved Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go by Kageyama Toshiro. I think it is most suitable to players who are already familiar with basic strategy, life & death, ladders and such, but the style of writing is very light and amusing, and it is filled with anecdotes, a lot of them not even about go.

4 Likes

I agree with Vsotvep. Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go by Kageyama Toshiro.

2 Likes

Cornel also agrees.

1 Like

Perhaps a testament to the quality, it’s unfortunate that all copies on eBay and Amazon are going for at least 45 USD.

I did just find THIS though…

3 Likes

I appreciate your helpfulness but publicly linking to copyrighted material might not be the way to go. :confused:

Imho, 45 dollars for a good skill book is not that much, especially one that has 270 pages.

3 Likes

As I understand, that Internet archive is a nonprofit organization that abides by fair use policies, similar to a public library.

Further ethical treatment of material falls to the user (i.e. Don’t go making and disseminating unauthorized copies all willy-nilly)