[TL] Beginner (25k) looking for teaching games

Hello! I have some theoretical knowledge of Go but I have little practical application as I don’t play enough. I watch videos, do online tutorials and started going to a Go club once a week, but I would like to play more games. I am hoping that by playing more I will better develop my reading skills as I don’t always know what is the next best move. I’m looking for someone to play live teaching games. (Time zone GMT-5)

1 Like

Don’t worry this issue will surely disappear once you’re no longer a beginner.

1 Like

Pretty sure even Shin Jinseo doesn’t always know what is the next best move :thinking:

3 Likes

Thank you! lol There are so many possible moves that I honestly can’t tell what’s a bad move or a good move.

Knowing what the best move is, is a lot more difficult than discerning good moves from bad moves. Still, even strong players play some pretty bad moves, but they do it less frequently than beginners.

5 Likes

I was obviously being sarcastic (or at least I thought it was obvious!)

1 Like

Sarcasm is often lost in writing, especially when it’s not necessary.

4 Likes

Be patient, as there are more things to learn by yourself as things explained in books and such.
One want to understand but one has to get used to the game first so enjoy as much as you can playing lot of games (preferably with players of your level). That’s my advice as it seems you studied a bit but can’t apply easely.
Have fun anyway!

Playing more you’ll definitely improve.
If you’re worried about your next move, maybe reading isn’t the main topic.
I’d suggest:

• urgent moves first, then big moves
  • shapes
  • direction of play

While reading is very useful for all of them, it isn’t really necessary to fix your weak groups, fix your shape and decide the target for your next move.